Copy Code


The book of Leviticus is considered to be the Law book of the Old Testament. It is the third book in what is called the Pentateuch. The name Pentateuch originates from the Greek words pente (five) and teuchos (volumes). This is important because Pentateuch is the name given to the five books written by Moses. The book of Leviticus outlines the laws and statutes given to the people of Israel from God, through Moses. The Levitical system was set up so the people of God could draw near to Him. Therefore, as Christians, we must take note of the shadows of Jesus Christ that are found in the book of Leviticus.


Moses is the inspired author of the book of Leviticus, as well as that of Genesis, Exodus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. “In reality Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy are not five books, but one. No one except Moses could have written the book of Leviticus. When Phillip found Nathanael he said, “We have found him, of whom Moses in the Law, and the prophets, did write” (John 1:45). Thus it was known even to the disciples that Moses was the author of this and the other books of Law” (ABH+BI, Jackson¹). As previously mentioned, these five books are known as the Pentateuch, which encompass all of Moses’ writings. Each one of these books is unique in content and message, and the book of Leviticus is the book that contains the majority of the laws in the Mosaical system. This book can be sectioned off into five parts: the Laws of Sacrifice, Laws of Priesthood, Laws of Purification, Instruction of Holiness, and Redemption of Vows (LPPC, Walker²). The book was probably written at the end of the wilderness wandering, in 1452 B.C (KYB, Dunn³).

To be continued…